WhatsApp will now let users mute or message other participants individually in a group call as part of new features the service is rolling out.
With the launch of the new options, the users can avoid unnecessary disturbance caused in group chats when an individual forgets to mute themselves.
According to The Verge, along with the mute and message option, the app will also notify the users when someone joins the group call after it has already started.
Apart from updating the group call features, WhatsApp announced new privacy features. As per the announcement, a user can choose which of their contacts can see their profile photo, about, and last seen status on WhatsApp.
These features are a way to ensure the user has control over the people who have access to any information about them.
Previously, WhatsApp kept the last seen status hidden from strangers and also introduced the settings where the Android users can transfer their chat histories to iPhone.